Woods of Peace

Friedenswald (Woods of Peace)

In remembrance of the civilians and soldiers who were killed in World War II as well as those displaced from their home and initiated by Ben Wargin, Gernot Schmidt, Eberhard Grashoff, and Martin Stade, the first woods of peace were planted in 1991 on Krugberg near Seelow. In subsequent years, further woods of peace were planted on former war scenes in Górzyca (Poland), Brest (Belarus) and Moscow (Russia), thus turning former places of death into locations of living remembrance.

Friedenswald youth encounters
The Schloss Trebnitz Centre for Education and Encounters is the curator of Friedenswald, leading numerous international youth encounters in its spirit.  Thus, the woods of peace have been growing into living symbols of watchfulness and reconciliation and have been creating spaces for encounters for current and future generations for more than 20 years.

20 years of Friedenswald
On 2 April 2011, the Friedenswald’s 20th anniversary was celebrated on Krugberg near Seelow. Many guests took part in the festivities, including young people from Germany and Poland, but also, (left to right) the Ambassador of the Republic of Belarus, Mr Levanovich, the District Administrator of the district of Gorzów, Mr Kruczkowski, the Polish Embassy Secretary, Ms Wustinger, the Mayor of the town of Seelow, Mr Schröder, the District Administrator of the district of Märkisch-Oderland, Mr Schmidt, the Ambassador of the Ukraine, Ms Zarudna, the President of the State Parliament, Mr Fritsch, the Ambassador of Russia, Mr Grinin, the former Prime Minister of Brandenburg Mr Stolpe as well as several members of the Bundestag and  the federal parliaments and many citizens.

Friedenswald bei Moskau 1995  Friedenswald bei Seelow 1991  Friedenswald bei Gorzyca 1993  Friedenswald in Brest 1994  20 Jahre Friedenswald 2011  Logo des Friedenswalds

Friedenswald

Friedenswald

Im Gedenken an die im Zweiten Weltkrieg getöteten Zivilisten und Soldaten sowie an die aus ihrer Heimat vertriebenen Menschen entstand, initiiert durch Ben Wargin, Gernot Schmidt, Eberhard Grashoff und Martin Stade, 1991 auf dem Krugberg bei Seelow der erste Friedenswald. In den darauf folgenden Jahren wurden auf ehemaligen Kriegsschauplätzen in Górzyca (Polen), Brest (Belarus) und Moskau (Russland) weitere Friedenswälder gepflanzt. Auf diese Weise bildeten sich an einstigen Orten des Todes Plätze der gelebten Erinnerung.

Das Bildungs- und Begegnungszentrum Schloß Trebnitz ist Kurator der Friedenswälder und führt in ihrem Geiste zahlreiche internationale Jugendbegegnungen durch. So erwachsen die Friedenswälder seit mehr als 20 Jahren zu lebendigen Zeichen der Mahnung und Versöhnung und schaffen Räume der Begegnung für gegenwärtige und zukünftige Generationen.

Am 2. April 2011 wurde auf dem Krugberg bei Seelow das 20-jährige Bestehen des Friedenswalds gefeiert. An den Feierlichkeiten nahmen viele Gäste teil, darunter Jugendliche aus Deutschland und Polen aber auch (v. l.) der Botschaftsrat der Republik Belarus, Herr Lewanowitsch, der Landrat des Landkreises Gorzów, Herr Kruczkowski, die polnische Botschaftssekretärin Frau Wustinger, der Bürgermeister der Stadt Seelow, Herr Schröder, der Landrat des Landkreises Märkisch-Oderland, Herr Schmidt, die Botschafterin der Ukraine, Frau Zarudna, Landtagspräsident Herr Fritsch, der Botschafter Russlands Herr Grinin, der ehemalige Ministerpräsident Brandenburgs, Herr Stolpe sowie mehrere Bundestags- und Landtagsabgeordnete und viele Bürgerinnen und Bürger.

Friedenswald bei Moskau 1995  Friedenswald bei Seelow 1991  Friedenswald bei Gorzyca 1993  Friedenswald in Brest 1994  20 Jahre Friedenswald 2011  Logo des Friedenswalds