German-Polish Award for 2014

German-Polish Award for 2014

Together with the International Youth Meeting Centre of Auschwitz, the Association of Trebnitz Castle Education and Exchange Centre won the 2014 German-Polish Award. The award was presented by the Foreign Ministers of both countries, Frank-Walter Steinmeier and Grzegorz Schetyna, at the German-Polish Forum in Berlin on November 19th.

The chairman of the awarding committee, Dietmar Woidke (President of the state of Brandenburg and Co-ordinator of German-Polish Co-operation in the Foreign Office) said about the decision: “Trebnitz Castle … has become a highly respected centre of German-Polish exchange in the border region.“

The German-Polish Award is to be presented annually to an individual person or an organisation which has excelled notably in its work to develop German-Polish relations. Past laureates include Marion Gräfin Dönhoff, Jerzy Buzek, Willy Brandt, Tadeusz Mazowiecki, Richard von Weizsäcker, Lech Wałęsa, Hans-Dietrich Genscher, the European University Viadrina, the Löcknitz Europe School, the city of Wroclaw and the Kreisau Association.

Press release regarding the award presentation on November 19th 2014 >>

Photography: Hans Scherhaufer

Deutsch-Polnischer Preis 2014

Deutsch-Polnischer Preis 2014

Der Schloß Trebnitz Bildungs- und Begegnungszentrum e.V. ist zusammen mit der Internationalen Jugendbegegnungsstätte Auschwitz (IJBS) Träger des Deutsch-Polnische Preises 2014. Dieser wurde am 19. November auf dem Deutsch-Polnischen Forum in Berlin von den Außenministern beider Länder, Frank-Walter Steinmeier und Grzegorz Schetyna, überreicht.

Zu der Entscheidung sagte der Vorsitzende des Preiskomitees, Dietmar Woidke (Ministerpräsident des Landes Brandenburg und Koordinator für die deutsch-polnische Zusammenarbeit im Auswärtigen Amt): „Schloß Trebnitz … hat sich zu einem angesehenen Ort für deutsch-polnische Begegnungen im grenznahen Raum entwickelt.“

Der Deutsch-Polnische Preis wird jährlich an Einzelpersonen oder Organisationen vergeben, die sich um die Entwicklung der deutsch-polnischen Beziehungen besonders verdient gemacht haben. Zu den bisherigen Laureaten gehören Marion Gräfin Dönhoff, Jerzy Buzek, Willy Brandt, Tadeusz Mazowiecki, Richard von Weizsäcker, Lech Wałęsa, Hans-Dietrich Genscher, die Europa-Universität Viadrina, die Europaschule Löcknitz, die Stadt Breslau und die Stiftung Kreisau.

Pressemitteilung anlässlich der Preisverleihung am 19. November 2014 >>
Rede von Außenminister Frank-Walter Steinmeier anlässlich des 17. Deutsch-Polnischen Forums am 19. November 2014 in Berlin >>

Fotos: Hans Scherhaufer